Nabta Health
Articles / Love Languages - Does Your Husband Speak Yours?

Love Languages - Does Your Husband Speak Yours?

Sophie Smith
Nabta Health

Want to read more?

Register with a few details to continue reading this article

Get Access


In 1995, Gary Chapman, an American pastor with a Masters in Anthropology and a Ph.D. in Religious Education, published a book titled “The Five Love Languages”. In this book, Chapman outlines five ways to express and experience love that he calls "love languages".

These five languages are as follows:

  • Gift giving,

  • Quality time,

  • Words of affirmation,

  • Acts of service (devotion), and

  • Physical touch.

The theory of the book is simple: we all have a primary “love language” - a way in which we best understand and like to experience love. Be it through touch (hugs, kisses) or words of affirmation (being told “I love you”, “thank you”, “you’re doing a great job”). Once we have identified our primary love language, we can rank the remaining languages by importance; potentially we have a love language that is.....

related articles